Bang & Olufsen

Everything related to protocols and IR codes
george

Bang & Olufsen

Post by george »

Hi,
I am a newbie to the forum although I have been following for some time - ever since I bought a Send.IR module some months ago.

I have just completed a prototype which emulates a Bang and Olufsen BE04 controller based upon the blog article “Backdoor uPWM Hack on Arduino for Infrared signals using UART”. If I run it using the Send.IR module connected to an Arduino Uno 3, it works perfectly. and I am able to control the radio, CD and a-aux functions on my BeoSound 9000.

However if I replace Send.IR module with a sender based on the circuitry on page 1of the article, it does not work.

I next built another sender based upon based upon another blog article - “Constant current infrared LED emitter circuit”, but again it does not work.

In each case I tested the sender modules using Ken Sheriff’s IRsend routine (http://www.righto.com/2009/08/multi-pro ... brary.html) and found them to be working so I am wondering if the problem relates to the 455Mhz frequency.

Can anyone possibly help me please?
AnalysIR
Site Admin

Re: Bang & Olufsen

Post by AnalysIR »

Hi George

That firmware went thru several iterations before posting & I may not have re-tested the 455kHz fully after the final changes were made.
(The original hack provided an inverted IR signal as output...until we figured out another way getting a non-inverted signal using the UART's synchronous clock output.

I will check it out on the scope and get back to you.

In the meantime, if you could post the sketch you are using with your signals that may be useful.

I would also be interested to hear if you have a particular use case for using this uPWM approach vs IRremote or IRLib or direct PWM for generating the IR carrier.

tnx
george

Post by george »

Hi, and thanks for replying so quickly.