AC signal troubleshooting

Everything related to protocols and IR codes
briankwest
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:20 pm

Re: AC signal troubleshooting

Post by briankwest »

I've tried it, but I my have a bad IR on my side, due to the storm the delivery of my other parts hasn't made it. I'll try again once I have more parts.

/b

briankwest
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:20 pm

Re: AC signal troubleshooting

Post by briankwest »

I've tried with this now http://linksprite.com/wiki/index.php5?t ... or_Arduino

I've tried your code and tried to capture more samples, nothing I try seems to work.

/b

User avatar
AnalysIR
Site Admin
Posts: 633
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: AC signal troubleshooting

Post by AnalysIR »

briankwest wrote:I've tried with this now http://linksprite.com/wiki/index.php5?t ... or_Arduino
/b
HI
I checked the data sheet of this shield and it appears that the IR signal out from the IR receiver goes to pin 11 on the Arduino.
(you can verify this with a DMM)

You should breadboard this (if possible) so that this signal (pin 11 on the shield) goes to Pin 2 on the Arduino. In this case you would not connect(insert) the shield directly to the Arduino and would make the following connection with jumper wires or equivalent.

Shield ---> Aduino
5V -------> 5V
GND -------> GND
Pin 11 -------> Pin 2

briankwest
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:20 pm

Re: AC signal troubleshooting

Post by briankwest »

Yes, I can confirm that the IR receiver is on pin 11 and I hooked pin 11 to pin 2 during my testing to capture samples, one thing I noticed is the same signal wouldn't always capture the same way. In addition you can see when their is noise in the signal and obvious breaks in the wave. I'm wondering if the AVR can actually keep up or if its something obvious I'm overlooking here.

/b

briankwest
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:20 pm

Re: AC signal troubleshooting

Post by briankwest »

Oh one more thing I'm not sure I've relayed, I'm running Windows 8.1 in a VM on my Mac, Not sure if that matters or not.

/b

briankwest
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:20 pm

Re: AC signal troubleshooting

Post by briankwest »

I just revisited your code and it does indeed work, it helps if you double check everything :) ... Now off to work I go.

briankwest
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:20 pm

Re: AC signal troubleshooting

Post by briankwest »

Ok, how do I capture and convert the signals for use with your code?

briankwest
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:20 pm

Re: AC signal troubleshooting

Post by briankwest »

Never mind, I've figured it out. This is actually going to work! w00t! Thank you for your assistance.

briankwest
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:20 pm

Re: AC signal troubleshooting

Post by briankwest »

I've only thought I had this figured out... LOL

Session History: POWER_OFF
1,8:52:07.6,RAW,,,,0,12/9/2013,1;0;1000;0|2;1000;8964;1|3;9964;4464;0|4;14428;644;1|5;15072;556;0|6;15628;652;1|7;16280;544;0|8;16824;652;1|9;17476;1640;0|10;19116;648;1|11;19764;552;0|12;20316;644;1|13;20960;1648;0|14;22608;648;1|15;23256;548;0|16;23804;652;1|17;24456;548;0|18;25004;648;1|19;25652;552;0|20;26204;648;1|21;26852;548;0|22;27400;648;1|23;28048;1644;0|24;29692;644;1|25;30336;1648;0|26;31984;648;1|27;32632;1644;0|28;34276;644;1|29;34920;552;0|30;35472;644;1|31;36116;556;0|32;36672;644;1|33;37316;580;0|34;37896;628;1|35;38524;548;0|36;39072;648;1|37;39720;548;0|38;40268;652;1|39;40920;548;0|40;41468;648;1|41;42116;552;0|42;42668;648;1|43;43316;548;0|44;43864;648;1|45;44512;552;0|46;45064;648;1|47;45712;1644;0|48;47356;652;1|49;48008;1636;0|50;49644;648;1|51;50292;580;0|52;50872;620;1|53;51492;552;0|54;52044;644;1|55;52688;556;0|56;53244;644;1|57;53888;552;0|58;54440;644;1|59;55084;1676;0|60;56760;624;1|61;57384;1640;0|62;59024;644;1|63;59668;556;0|64;60224;644;1|65;60868;1644;0|66;62512;652;1|67;63164;548;0|68;63712;648;1|69;64360;552;0|70;64912;648;1|71;65560;1640;0|72;67200;644;1|73;67844;556;0|74;68400;652;1|75;69052;19916;0|76;88968;644;1|77;89612;552;0|78;90164;648;1|79;90812;552;0|80;91364;644;1|81;92008;556;0|82;92564;644;1|83;93208;552;0|84;93760;644;1|85;94404;556;0|86;94960;652;1|87;95612;548;0|88;96160;652;1|89;96812;548;0|90;97360;648;1|91;98008;548;0|92;98556;652;1|93;99208;548;0|94;99756;648;1|95;100404;552;0|96;100956;644;1|97;101600;552;0|98;102152;648;1|99;102800;552;0|100;103352;644;1|101;103996;556;0|102;104552;644;1|103;105196;13869;0|104;119065;644;1|105;119709;552;0|106;120261;548;0|107;120809;648;1|108;121457;552;0|109;122009;644;1|110;122653;556;0|111;123209;644;1|112;123853;552;0|113;124405;644;1|114;125049;556;0|115;125605;644;1|116;126249;552;0|117;126801;644;1|118;127445;584;0|119;128029;624;1|120;128653;548;0|121;129201;652;1|122;129853;548;0|123;130401;648;1|124;131049;576;0|125;131625;624;1|126;132249;576;0|127;132825;620;1|128;133445;552;0|129;133997;644;1|130;134641;552;0|131;135193;652;1|132;135845;548;0|133;136393;644;1|134;137037;1648;0|135;138685;648;1|136;139333;1644;0|137;140977;644;1|138;141621;552;0|139;142173;648;1|,


I can't get this one to relay properly at all.

User avatar
AnalysIR
Site Admin
Posts: 633
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: AC signal troubleshooting

Post by AnalysIR »

Unfortunately, this looks like a distorted signal - again. :(


Try the following:
- Using your remote, record signals from different angles & at different distances from the IR receiver. (I have even seen improvements, reflecting the remote off a wall or the ceiling)
- Also try from distance across the room and from the side & behind.
- If that doesn't work, then try really close up
- Make sure here are no reflective surfaces near the receiver and adjust (reflective angles)accordingly, including PC/Laptop screen, enclosures etc
- Try the above steps with your previous receiver also, if neccessary.
- If you want, turn off TV, Lights as they are common sources of inteference.

The objective is to get signals that are repeatable (I.e. the same(similar) signal is received on multiple presses of the same key/command)

My guess of what is happening, is that the AGC scheme is kicking in - inside the IR Receiver. Many of these receivers are 'tuned' for TV IR signals which have circa 34 pulses in a signal. AC signals can have 258 or more pulses in one signal. IR receivers are optimised like this to avoid inteference from ambient light sources and 3rd party remotes.

The other (unlikely) possibility, could be that the modulation frequency is not 38kHz. What is the model of the AC unit & the remote (inside battery compartment?)

Post Reply