IRToy newbie

Everything related to protocols and IR codes
EmmEff
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:46 pm

IRToy newbie

Post by EmmEff » Sat Mar 09, 2019 10:03 pm

I bought an IRTOY v2 a year or so ago. It came with ZERO documentation. I attempted to get assistance and found none.
Now I have A.IR and plugged the IRtoy into a USB port.
I press buttons on a Sony DVD player remote.
A small yellow LED flickers on on the IRTOY when I press any of the buttons on the Sony Remote.
I see no display on the PC screen. No errors. . .Nada.
I see a small box showing com ports on the screen but changing to them causes no change in operation of A.ir software.
Perhaps some documentation on the IRTOY would be useful. Anyone have a link to a place to download that ?

Any IRTOY users could get me started ? TIA.

User avatar
AnalysIR
Site Admin
Posts: 503
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: IRToy newbie

Post by AnalysIR » Sun Mar 10, 2019 6:28 pm

Assuming you are using AnalysIR.....

Follow the instructions in the user guide and info graphic provided with the install pack.

Make sure you have the irtoy driver installed, the com port selected and the source set as irtoy.

If it is still not working post again

EmmEff
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:46 pm

Re: IRToy newbie

Post by EmmEff » Mon Mar 11, 2019 5:17 pm

I was not aware of a driver for IRToy. Anyone have a link to get it ?

Thanks.

EmmEff
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:46 pm

Re: IRToy newbie

Post by EmmEff » Mon Mar 11, 2019 5:58 pm

Okay. . .I now see Com 3 as a port when I unplug and plug-in the IRToy. Does this mean I have a driver loaded/installed for it.
Pardon my exposing my "dumbness"

EmmEff
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:46 pm

Re: IRToy newbie

Post by EmmEff » Mon Mar 11, 2019 6:05 pm

Now believing that I need to update the firmware to v.2.2
gotta figure out how to find the instructions to do THAT

User avatar
AnalysIR
Site Admin
Posts: 503
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: IRToy newbie

Post by AnalysIR » Mon Mar 11, 2019 6:34 pm

The driver and software pack is available from the DP website or directly from here...
https://github.com/DangerousPrototypes/ ... ge.v22.zip

It contains the driver & the firmware, in case you need to update the firmware.

The project page with instructions is: http://dangerousprototypes.com/docs/USB_Infrared_Toy
I now see Com 3 as a port when I unplug and plug-in the IRToy. Does this mean I have a driver loaded/installed for it.
It is posible to install the wrong driver....if you didn't get it from the link above, it is likely the wrong driver.

Yes, you need V22 firmware. However, Once you have selected the COM port in AnalysIR and then under Source select the IR Toy...The installed firmware version will be displayed at the bottom of the window. Let me know what that says.

EmmEff
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:46 pm

Re: IRToy newbie

Post by EmmEff » Mon Mar 11, 2019 9:56 pm

Further searching led me to a Firmware update which implied that it would work with ANY o/s. I have windows.
Downloaded it, read and re-read the firmware instuctions. Had a .bat file which I ran after installing the jumper on the board to invoke the USB system. There were several lines of communication with the computer. It seemed to appear that all was Kosher but the A.IR still says it cannot see the IRTOY and thus cannot tell if the firmware version is 2.2.

Sigh. . . .

User avatar
AnalysIR
Site Admin
Posts: 503
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: IRToy newbie

Post by AnalysIR » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:17 pm

Send me a screenshot of the main AnalysIR window (option via file menu) after you select the com port and set IR Toy as Source from the source menu.

Also send me a screen shot of Device Manager with the COM ports expanded & visible.

EmmEff
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:46 pm

Re: IRToy newbie

Post by EmmEff » Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:12 pm

Decided to try the firmware upload one more time.
This time saved the message that came up when I ran the v22.bat file.

Enter Com Port Number 3
'BootLoader.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
Once the device has entered boot loader mode
Press any key to continue . . .

User avatar
AnalysIR
Site Admin
Posts: 503
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: IRToy newbie

Post by AnalysIR » Tue Mar 12, 2019 8:11 pm

From memory if you just continue with that BAT file it goes on to upload???

...or just run the commands in the BAT file directly

...or
BootLoader.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command
Make sure you cd to the directory with BootLoader.exe

Post Reply